When it Rings Will You Answer?

One and One and One is Three

Light comes from within

leave a comment »

“Describe to me your perfect woman.”

“Alive.”

“Very funny. I’m serious. Describe her. I don’t mean physically. I’m not interested in that. I mean describe Her to me, with a capital ‘H’.”

“Christ. I don’t know.”

“Yes you do. Imagine her directly in front of you right this moment. What is she doing?”

“Smiling.”

“Good. Again though, I don’t mean physically.”

“Neither do I. Her smile is so much more than that.”

“Go on.”

“It’s every cliché you can possibly dream of. I mean, when God said, ‘Let there be light,’ she smiled. It’s the type of smile that could pull me out of the deepest depths of hell and self-pity. When she is smiling, her entire soul is exposed and instead of that fact terrifying her, she only smiles larger. And her laugh, God, her laugh.”

“Describe it.”

“No, I mean her laugh IS God.”

“I’ve never known you to be a religious sort of man.”

“I wasn’t before I heard her laugh. Before I felt that smile. Before her eyes saw right through me and still accepted me. Still loved me.”

“Do you think most people who see you, don’t accept you? Don’t love you?”

“None of them would matter because of her.”

“And do you think you’ll find her? Do you think she exists?”

“I think I’ve given up most hope that she does, but maybe a glimmer. One last-ditch effort to break out of the darkness.”

“So, you’re really looking for a light. A guiding beacon, if you will?”

“I don’t know.”

“It sounds to me that is exactly what you are doing. The danger is that you are searching for this light in someone else. You won’t find it there. You won’t find it in a soul mate or in religion. It’s in you. It really is. It is a light that comes from within. I can see it. I can see so much of it in you. That glimmer of hope you speak of isn’t that there is a perfect woman out there and that you’ll find her, it’s that glimmer of light inside and it’s ready to break out and do for you what you hope this perfect woman will. I’m not saying that you won’t find your soul mate or that you won’t find happiness in God – even, but you have to find it inside first. You want to talk clichés? No one can truly love you, until you truly love yourself.”

“I don’t know what light it is you see in me, but at this point it’s just dying embers.”

“Then stoke them. It’s up to you.”

“One last thing though about that perfect woman…”

“Stop looking for perfection, you’ll never find it. You’re not perfect. I’m not perfect. Perfect doesn’t exist.”

“I know…”

“Then what?”

“I was just going to say that along with the smile, she’d better love Bright Eyes.”

“Look at that, a smile.”

“I guess I was due.”

 

 

Written by whenitringswillyouanswer

April 29, 2014 at 4:22 PM

Leave a Reply

