When it Rings Will You Answer?

One and One and One is Three

Chapter II: The Cab Ride Over

leave a comment »

This is Chapter II, if you haven’t read Chapter I, here is the link: Chapter I: Three Quarters

Through the door, to the elevator and down to the street, she remained tightly hung around his neck. He walked as if on air and as if neither of them weighed an ounce. Outside he walked as if it were perfectly normal to saunter down the street with the love of his life draped around his neck.

He hailed a cab with his free hand and it wasn’t until he struggled to open the door of the cab that she released her grip. Once inside the cab, he slipped the cab driver a piece of paper with instructions of where to go.

“Oh, you tease!” She cried. “Where are you taking me you dastardly man? I demand to know!”

“If I told you that, it would no longer be a surprise, and you’d despise me for it. I certainly could not live with myself if that were to happen.”

“I so hate surprises!” She huffed and slunk in her seat with her arms crossed across her chest.

“You lie.”

“I do.” She smiled blindingly bright, lighting the entire cab and exercising all sad or negative energy any previous patrons may have left behind.

The cab continued at a brisk pace. It seemed as though the traffic lights were in on the surprise. Changing to green in perfect unison. He was nervous but had faith that his months and months of planning would allow the evening to go off without a hitch. Tonight was the night, he thought, nothing could possibly go wrong, and he believed it with all his heart to be true.

“You were angry with me before.” She broke what had been a comfortable silence. “Why?”

“I wasn’t,” he replied.

“You were. Don’t be flippant with me.” She was irked by his denial. The mood had shifted slightly towards the uncomfortable sort of silence. The traffic lights, still in on the surprise must have caught wind as they began to hit every red light, giving them time to recover.

“I wasn’t angry, perhaps frustrated or annoyed, but not angry, and it was for the silliest of reasons. I am actually embarrassed by it and you’d just think me a fool.” He promised.

“Oh come on now, you HAVE to tell now! What had I done? Please tell me so that I know whether or not to be frustrated or annoyed with your reasoning.” She shot a look at him that said, ‘do not screw this up.’

“I just…”

But her look had faded and her smile returned. She had been playing with him and saw that she had won.

“Love you.” She kissed his cheek.

“Love you too, jerkface.” He sighed with relief.

The lights once again turned green and they pulled up to their destination. He got out of the cab first and went around to open her door. As she got out of the cab she realized where they were.

“You didn’t!” She screamed.

“I did.” He smiled.

They walked up to a building and entered.

Written by josiahh

July 9, 2013 at 11:32 AM

Leave a Reply

