When it Rings Will You Answer?

One and One and One is Three

Short Stories with Tragic Endings

with 2 comments

I have decided to throw my hat into the torturous world of competitive writing. I expect to be a lamb to slaughter. I will be attempting to write a short story for the Toronto Star. First prize is a cool five thousand dollars and tuition for a writing course. I am not sure I have what it takes to bring it on home, but I will gladly frustrate the hell out of myself in trying.

Now, the question begs, what in the h-e-double-hockey-sticks should I write my story about? My difficulty will lay in the fact that I am not much of a story teller. I would say that I am more of a conversationalist in my writing style. In fact, the last time I wrote a short story was back in OAC Writer’s Craft. A mere decade ago at this point. That story, which sadly no longer exists as I am terrible at saving important things, revolved around a boy, his high school crush and walking her home on a cold winter’s day. If i remember correctly, it was, for a high school emo piece, largely influenced by the writings of Taking Back Sunday, pretty solid.

I have until 11:59PM on February 26 to write this thing. I WILL write this thing. I may have to start using drugs to get the creative juices flowing. Okay, no drugs. Seriously though, I am waiting for a topic, subject, character to jump out and scream, “WRITE ME!”

Stay tuned.

For any one else interested, here is the information for the contest:

Written by whenitringswillyouanswer

January 9, 2012 at 1:27 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think you should write about the plight of the over-educated, unemployable, debt-riddled, BITTER, University graduate of our generation. A lot of people can relate to that (points to bitter self). Something about the unfulfilled promise of a well-paying job after graduation (which I know I was freakin’ promised). That or yuppies. Everyone loves a good rant about complacency and yuppies… namely me.

    hawkista

    January 9, 2012 at 3:33 PM

  2. ha! i like it. definitely a possibility there. i once had to write an 8 minute speech for a business course and it turned into an 8 minute long rant on why i hated tourists in collingwood. i definitely have it in me!

    whenitringswillyouanswer

    January 9, 2012 at 4:20 PM


Leave a Reply

