When it Rings Will You Answer?

One and One and One is Three

My trip to Vancouver was better than your trip

leave a comment »

Hello friends, it’s been too long. I know that I promised I would write more often. I’ve certainly dropped the ball on more than one occasion. Maybe I am just not cut out for this whole blogging world. I mean, how can I possibly let a situation like the Rob Ford vs CBC thing go by the wayside, or allow Rick Mercer’s powerful rant on teen suicide to just slip on by? Occupy Toronto? I went down on the first day and took pictures, yet I wrote NOTHING. It is not like I’ve been incredibly busy over the past few months. Why are you nodding your head and agreeing with all of this? STOP IT! I’m sorry! It’s not like I’ve read anything YOU’VE written lately! Yeah, so like, just shut up already!

…I’m sorry. I got a little defensive there.

Well, since the above issues have already been posted and blogged to death (ha…death by blogging), what can I possibly write about that would be of any interest to anyone? Probably nothing, but you know what? I’m going to tell you about my trip to Vancouver. You are going to sit there and read like a good friend…HEY…STOP…DON’T CLICK THAT LINK TO GLEE SPOILERS!!!

That’s okay, we didn’t need them to read the whole story. I’m glad YOU’VE stayed. You’re a true friend.

As some of you may be aware, I recently won a trip for two to Vancouver and tickets to see the Foo Fighters at Rogers Arena courtesy of Sony Music Canada. It was pretty amazing. I have never won anything in my life and then to win such a great trip, well is quite a trip! See what I did there?

I didn’t believe it. I thought, there is no way this is happening, good things don’t tend to happen to me. I bet this is some sort of scam. I kept believing that all the way to the airport and until the plane landed in Vancouver, I kept thinking someone was going to jump out and say “PSYCH! YOU IDIOT! I CAN’T BELIEVE YOU ACTUALLY THOUGHT YOU WON SOMETHING THIS AWESOME!” and then punch me in the stomach and disappear. The plane would then land in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan and I’d be stuck there for life, but I digress.

Since the trip was for two, I was able to bring along my amazing, funny, over the top ridiculous and not so hard to look at friend Maisha. We met at Kipling Station and took the 192 to YYZ.

Arriving at YYZ for the first time in fourteen years, I had no idea where to go or what to do. We got off the bus at Terminal 1 and walked towards the Monorail to make our way to Terminal 3 (the walk to the monorail was in fact longer than the monorail ride itself) which is where our flight was leaving from.

Yadda Yadda Yadda….eat breakfast, browse shops, board plane, take off, spend 5 hours 40,000 feet in the air, land in Vancouver.

HELLO WEST COAST!

I’ve suddenly realized that this blog is going to turn out pretty boring. We check in, walk around downtown Vancouver, endlessly entertain the locals, mistakenly walk down Hastings Street, witness people shooting up in doorways and alleyways, walk much faster back to hotel, sleep, eat breakfast at the Templeton, walk around Vancouver some more whilst remaining hilariously charming and entertaining, go to the Foo Fighters concert, walk around a bit more, sleep, get breakfast, check out, take train back to airport, realize I’ve lost my healthcard which is my only piece of ID, explain in a panicked state to boarding staff my situation, am told my ridiculously expired G1 will be sufficient, breath massive sigh of relief and begin to tell myself how frigging smart and awesome I am for still carrying around an expired G1, board plane, fly home, part ways with Maisha at Kipling station, take subway rest of the way home, sleep.

BEST TRIP EVER!

In all seriousness though, it was a thoroughly enjoyable trip and I am incredibly thankful for having won the trip and been able to experience it all with an amazing friend. I am now in the habit of entering every single contest out there as I now know people actually do win them.

If you do want any details feel free to ask. I mostly just got lazy and decided to bail part way through writing this thing.

Love always,

Josiah

Written by whenitringswillyouanswer

October 29, 2011 at 11:15 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

